Cybersecurity MONDAY

Spam Messages Coming to Your

Messaging App

If you use messaging apps such a Facebook Messenger or Skype, you need to be aware of spam messages that may be coming your way. These messages can lead you to unknowingly install a Trojan horse virus.

What to look for 

        • The spam most often arrives as a video link that appears to be from a friend.
        • The message most likely will refer to you by name, include the word “video” and a surprised emoji.
        • This virus uses shortened links that masks the final website address.

So, what happens if you click on the link?  The link directs you to Google docs, and once there, you will see a picture of a video. Tempting as it might be, you should avoid clicking the play button.  Once the play button is clicked, the video can then lead you to the masked website where you will be asked to install the necessary plug-ins.

The key is DO NOT rush to open a link no matter how tempting it may be.  It never hurts to check with your friend first to make sure they really did send the link to you.

For more information on how to protect yourself from this type of spam, visit this Skype Support page.

  Chat Now